Pevkur and Reznikov signed defence cooperation agreement

Source: Ministry of Defence of the Republic of Estonia

Today in Ramstein at the Ukraine Defence Contact Group meeting, Estonian Minister of Defence Hanno Pevkur and Ukrainian Minister of Defence Oleskii Reznikov signed a defence cooperation agreement between Estonia and Ukraine. The agreement sets out continuing cooperation and information exchange in the areas of defence policy and planning, intelligence and situational awareness, defence education and training, and more, between Estonia and Ukraine

At their first cabinet meeting, the Estonian government approved Minister of Defence Hanno Pevkur’s decision to send Ukraine urgently needed artillery ammunition as part of the Estonian contribution towards the European Union agreement to send Ukraine one million rounds of artillery ammunition.



“With the million rounds of ammunition initiative, we showed that when needed, we can do big things together and fast. Estonia is quickly moving ahead with our delivery of ammunition, and we will definitely continue work on subsequent aid packages. However, for bilateral cooperation, the agreement signed today provides a clear framework not only for the political level, but also for all those active in the field of defence,” said Minister of Defence Hanno Pevkur.

Commenting on the Ramstein meeting, Pevkur said that unity on the continuing support for Ukraine is clearly visible. “It was good to see that the need to continue helping Ukraine resounded in all statements and several countries around the table also announced sending ammunition as well as other types of urgently needed military aid, “ added Pevkur.


The Ramstein Ukraine Defence Contact Group is a US-led format that met for the first time a year ago, having met 12 times to date. The objective of the meetings is to get an overview of Ukraine’s needs and the aid that donors are sending. Among the over 50 participating states, in addition to NATO and EU allies, participants include Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Australia, Morocco, Qatar, and Israel.




Related news & articles

Latest news